Laws That All California Residents Need To Know
Motorcycles: Lane splitting by a motorcyclist will remain legal when done safely.
Child safety seats: Starting on Jan. 1st, children under 2 years of age must ride rear-facing in an appropriate child passenger safety seat. Also any children weighing 40 or more pounds, or standing 40 or more inches tall are exempt. And in California all kids under the age of eight need to be properly restrained in a child safety seat in the back seat of a vehicle.
Use of Wirelesss electronic devices: Motorists are no longer allowed to hold a wireless telephone or electronic wireless device while driving a motor vehicle. Now the device must be mounted in the 7 inch square in the lower corner of the windshield farthest removed from the driver. The law does allow a driver to operate one of these devices with the motion of a single swipe or tap of the finger, but not while holding it.
DUI: Starting in 2019 a driving under the influence offender will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for a specified period of time in order to get a restricted license or to reinstate their license.
School bus safety: The law requires all school buses, youth buses, pupil activity buses, and child care motor vehicles used to transport school aged kids to be equipped with a “child safety alert system”
Tour bus inspections: The new law requires the CHP to develop protocols for entering into a memorandum of understanding to increase inspections.
Booze: powdered alcohol is now illegal to sell, possess or make, but beauty salons can serve small amounts of wine and beer as long as it’s free before 10pm.
Prescription drugs: Bill 1174 puts doctors who recklessly prescribe psychiatric drugs at risk of losing their medical license.
Reporting an accident: The minimum threshold for reporting property damage in a motor vechicle accident will increase to $1000.
Vehicle registration: The vehicle registration fee for every vehicle or trailer coach will increase to $53 as of April 1st 2017.
Gender-neutral bathrooms: – California quietly made up its mind and with Assembly Bill 1732, now all single-toilet bathrooms in businesses and public agencies are gender neutral.
Assualt Weapons: Under the new gun control regulations, the definition of illegal assault weapons has broadened and now requires background checks for the 1st time for purchasing ammo and will limit the lending of guns to family members.
Minimum wage: Statewide minimum wage will rise from $10 to $10.50 per hour for companies with 26 employees or more, and that rate will go to $15 by 2022. In addition an employer can’t pay a woman less than her male colleague because of her prior salary. Assembly Bill 2939 gives up to 12 weeks of paid parental leave to all K-12 and community college employees, which includes classified workers and community college faculty.
How much is your case worth?Get a free case evaluation